Winners of annual Stephenson competition announced

The 30th Annual Roy L. Stephenson Trial Advocacy Competition and Banquet was held at the UI College of Law this month. The dinner speaker was Gregory M. Lederer of Lederer Weston Craig, PLC, of Cedar Rapids and Des Moines. At the event, the annual Richard Glovka (’63) Scholarship was awarded to Alex Grasso, ’13.

The winners of the annual competition were announced at the banquet.
Best Advocate – Ravi Narayan, ’13
Second place – Molly McPartland, ’14
Third place – Genevieve Craggs, ’14
Fourth through sixth places – Stephanie Krause, ’13, Katie Frank, ’13, and Will Gyauch, ’14.

In the spring the winners will participate on two competitive teams at the National Trial Competition, sponsored by the American College of Trial Advocates, and the Student Trial Advocacy Competition, sponsored by the American Association for Justice. Also joining teams from the Stephenson Competition will be Chris Johnston, ’13, Amanda Fray, ’14, James Thompson, ’13, and Sabrina Danielson, ’14.